Fairfield, Iowa: Local Government & Municipal Services

Fairfield, Iowa has a Mayor/City Council form of local government. The mayor is elected for a two-year term. Council members are elected to four-year terms and serve either one of five wards or one of two at-large positions, whichever applies to the individual council member.

The Mayor, City Council, and community members created a comprehensive City Plan in 2020, known as the Fairfield Forever Plan -2020. There is a City of Fairfield does have a zoning code of ordinances in effect, however, the County has no zoning code in effect.

City Hall

118 South Main St
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641.472.6193
Fax: 641.472.0698

City Administrator: Aaron Kooiker
City Clerk: Rebekah Loper
City Engineer: Melanie Carlson
City Attorney: John Morrissey

Fairfield Water Department

118 South Main St
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641.472.6193
Fax: 641.472.0698
Water Superintendent: Steve Redinger

Fairfield Police Department

1200 West Grimes
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641.472.4146
Fax: 641.472.7268
Chief of Police- Dave Thomas

Fairfield Fire Department

104 N 2nd St
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-9212
Fax: 641-472-3135
Chief of Fire Department- Scott Vaughan

Fairfield Wastewater Department

2215 Marigold Blvd
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-5218
Fax: 641-472-3551
Wastwater Superintendent- Shawn Worley

Fairfield Streets and Public Works Department

1002 W. Jefferson
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-4750
Department Superintendent- Darrel Bisgard

Fairfield Public Library

104 W Adams
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-6551
Fax: 641-472-3249
Library Director- Rebecca Johnson

Fairfield Media Center (FPAC)

123 N Main St Suite #3
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-469-3225
Digital Media Coordinator- Jason Strong

Fairfield Park and Recreation Department

1000 W Burlington Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-6159
Fax: 641-472-9897
Director- Calvin Todd

Fairfield Municipal Airport

2013 Airport Rd
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-3160
Airport Manager- Robert Lyons

Jefferson County Board of Supervisors

Jefferson County Courthouse
51 W Briggs Ave.
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641.472.2851

Jefferson County Attorney

51 W. Hempstead Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-9201
Fax: 641-472-9202
Email: jeffcoatty@lisco.com
Current Elected Official- Chauncey Moulding
Assistant- Patrick McAvan

Jefferson County Auditor

51 W. Briggs Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-2840
Email: auditor@jeffersoncountyia.com
Current Elected Official- Scott Reneker

Jefferson County Recorder

51 W. Briggs Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-4331
Fax: 641-472-5094
Email: recorder@jeffersoncountyia.com
Current Elected Official- Kelly Spees

Jefferson County Treasurer

51 W. Briggs Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-2349
Email: treasurer@jeffersoncountyia.com
Current Elected Official- Mark Myers

Jefferson County Sheriff

Jefferson County Law Center
1200 W Grimes Ave
Fairfield, IA 52556
Phone: 641-472-4146
Current Elected Official- Greggory Morton
Chief Deputy- Bart Richmond
Jail Administrator- Mike Simons

Fairfield, Iowa, City Council

Boyer, ConnieMayorEmail641.472.6193
Rasmussen, MarthaFirst WardEmail641.472.2339
Paul GandySecond WardEmail641.919.7285
Ham, JudyThird WardEmail641.233.8065
Halley, Michael
Fourth WardEmail641.233.0445
Twohill, TomFifth WardEmail
Anderson, KatyAt LargeEmail641.919.7006
Flournoy, DougAt LargeEmail641.472.0216

Jefferson County, Iowa, Board of Supervisors

Daryn HamiltonEmail
Dimmitt, LeeSupervisor, Vice-ChairmanEmail641.919.9547
Sandquist, DeeSupervisorEmail641.451.1293